Tags

, , , , ,

Ziegfeld Model - Non-Risque - by Alfred Cheney Johnston - Pierrot Serenading Three Women

Last year, I made a list of four resolutions, all which seemed very relevant to what was going on in my life. Out of those, I accomplished one, and half accomplished the other three. There were a few things that got in my way which turned out to be beneficial, but I still feel like last year didn’t live up to its potential. It felt like a stepping stone year, a year where certain bricks were laid in place, to make this new one even better.

To keep building upon 2012, I’ve made a list of goals for this year. Some are bigger than others and they all add up to a better, happier person. 2013, a year for self improvement!

Work goals: Become a visual manager, move back to New York.
I was lucky enough this past year to have an awesome opportunity to go to New York and work in the Support Office. The biggest lesson I learned? Sometimes things aren’t as great as you thought they’d be once you get them. I hated working in an office. But I fell in love with New York. The people, the culture, the romance of the city. Coming back to Philadelphia felt like a death knell. My goal is to move back to New York doing something I love, and definitely by the Fall.

Travel goals: Visit London and Berlin, return to Paris and Montreal.
One of the perks of working at H&M? Four weeks paid vacation! I only got to leave the country once last year, and I don’t want to let that happen again. Travel has always been one of my top priorities, and I think this year will be a perfect opportunity to do so!

Educational goals: Learn the things I keep putting off.
I’ve always wanted to be fluent in German, since I can read a little. This year, I need to just do it. I already have the Rosetta Stone, maybe planning a trip to Berlin in the Fall can be my motivation? I also want to learn to cook some things, and have my eye on a few good cook books to start me off. I’d also like to just take some random classes- maybe acting? Or once I move back to NYC, the classes at FIT would be a great way to network.

Personal goals: Work on improving my interactions and forming new and better friendships.
I learned a lot about myself this year. A LOT. I realized that there are many things that I don’t like and want to change that. How can I achieve this? Well, I think working on my other goals is a start to becoming a better rounded individual. I also need to focus on being a better friend and more open to new things.

Phew! It’s a lot, but I think I’m up for the challenge! Let’s make sure 2013 is an amazing year!

