Tags

, , , , , , ,

Whenever I travel, I always scope out the vintage shopping. Not every city has a great amount of boutiques, and not every boutique has a great selection.

I didn’t know much about Montreal’s shopping scene before I visited, but as soon as we reached the Mile End neighborhood, I was immediately overwhelmed by the amount of cute clothing shops and bookstores!

If you’re in the neighborhood, check out the shops off of Avenue du Parc on Rue Bernard and Saint Viateur. All the way up to the Boulevard Saint-Laurent, these streets are lined with vintage shops, an antique store, several book stores and plenty of cafes for resting after your shopping binge!

While the stores in that area are great, just a little further south down Saint-Laurent is a whole strip of vintage shops that are absolutely incredible! I rarely find a store that is just brimming with amazing pieces, but Friperie St-Laurent was truly a rare gem!

All their stock was from the 50’s and 60’s, quality cocktail dresses, and no awkward large sizes. I was in heaven!¬†Unfortunately I wasn’t in the market to buy anything, but I’ll have to come back when I have a bit more money! There are three more shops next door, and I bought a pair of fantastic sunglasses at Rokokonuts. They have a lot of kitschy 60’s items and great house stuff!

Further down into the center of the city in the gay neighborhood is a row of antique stores carrying modern furniture. On Rue Amherst, around Rue Robin, there are about five shops all in a row carrying ultra mod 50’s and 60’s furniture. They were definitely out of my price range, but it was great to see all the amazing pieces and daydream!

All in all, Montreal is really a great city for vintage and antique shopping! It’s a lot pricier then Philadelphia, but the quality of what you’ll find is definitely worth it!

(Personal Photos)

