Tags

, , , , ,

Since I was a little girl, PBS has played a huge role in my life. It has been a source of great educational entertainment while also providing me with my first exposures  to some of the things which have shaped who I am, including costume period programs and British comedies.

Particular favorites which I cannot forget are Aristocrats, Downton Abbey, An Unsuitable Job for a Woman, Far From the Madding Crowd, Coupling and the first classic movies I ever saw, namely Singin’ in the Rain. I loved the main character Cordelia Gray in Unsuitable so much that my little sister’s middle name is Cordelia. And Coupling? Well, if you’ve never seen it, it’s on Netflix Instant… GO.

One of the mainstays of PBS programming over the years are the ‘Masterpiece’ series, and the great opening to the Mystery episodes.

The theme has changed to be much shorter nowadays. The cartoons are by a man named Edward Gorey and they are just the perfect balance of whimsical and creepy.

One of the more recent of BBC and Masterpiece’s brilliance is Sherlock. I was absolutely thrilled to discover it was co-created by Steven Moffat, the creator of Coupling!

I was absolutely enthralled by every episode; not only is the show extremely well written, the actors spot on… but the high-def scenes of London are abso-fucking-lutely beautiful. I get a feeling of near melancholy just watching, and can’t wait to visit the city later this year.

The first three episodes are on Netflixs… It’s a great way to spend a lazy afternoon!

